In Between Days by Anne Jamison - Chicago suburbs, 1985. The high school. The mall. The blood-stained Mercedes. Misogyny. Homophobia. Class warfare. Cocaine. (And the first semester isn’t even over yet.)

In Between Days

by Anne Jamison 

GENRE: Young Adult


Chicago suburbs, 1985. The high school. The mall. The blood-stained Mercedes. Misogyny. Homophobia. Class warfare. Cocaine.

(And the first semester isn’t even over yet.)

The Jocks with their pastel Izods. The Barbies. The loser Burnouts.

High school in the 1980s had rules. Barbies and Jocks can mix. Barbie cheerleaders steer clear of the losers. Punks want to burn it all down.

Samantha Ward doesn't love the rules, but she plays to win. So when a snarky Burnout goes after her in a face-off, of course she fights back. Of course she fights mean. She may not get his sex joke, but she knows he made one. About her. In front of the entire cafeteria. And what's worse, she feels a tingle when she looks at bad-boy Jason.

How could she know her mean girl put-down would launch a war? Or that the school she knows hides a darker world she never even dreamed of?

In Between Days is a pitch-perfect story of first love, friendship, and enemies; of loyalty, betrayal, and the power of secrets. This darkly funny, suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of The Outsiders and The Breakfast Club.

"GRIPPING AND UNPUTDOWNABLE." --Christina Lauren, international bestselling authors of Dating You/Hating You “THIS WAS a bittersweet tumble into eighties high school nostalgia, with all the angst, sexual tension and emotional confusion involved with first love, and so well done it was a non-stop read to the end.… (Oh, and one of the best first kisses I have EVER read...),” says one reviewer

Author's Note:

This is a historical novel that contains period language that is, and was then, and should be, offensive.

Buy In Between Days:
Amazon   B&N   Kobo   Apple

EXCERPT:

Samantha wasn’t a saint, true, but other girls were so much meaner. So why was she the one in a crumpled heap outside the nurse’s office? And all because a bunch of boys decided it would be funny to talk about putting their tongues in her vagina, or if it was worth their time, or how long they could do it for, or whatever.

Jessica was wrong. It was worse not knowing. It was like she'd had nothing to say about it at all. She was just there, like being pretty and popular made her Mount Everest of vagina jokes.

She felt so sick, sicker every time her mind made another lap around it.

Partly because it dredged up another memory, one that mostly stayed foggy. A party freshman year. The punch had been spiked with Everclear, she’d learned later, because the vodka had run out.

Samantha had spent the rest of the night dimly struggling to remove boys’ hands and tongues from her body. “Can’t believe I’m getting a chance with you,” they’d slur as she tried to twist away. She’d pass out a minute and there they’d be again, tongues worming their way into her mouth, hands creeping up her shirt, fumbling with her underwires and fighting the tight waistband of her jeans.

Hands everywhere, all for the first time.

Spinning. Unable to leave because her ride was making out with Christian Shields in the pool house and Samantha was afraid to call her parents. Afraid to call for help. Afraid of being branded—can’t hold her liquor, no sense of humor, frigid. And all the while, trying to avoid the shame of getting sick all over them.

Ever since Jessica’s bathroom lesson, Samantha had tasted Hawaiian punch in the back of her throat.

That time, there were real hands and tongues, but it had mostly gone on in dark corners. No one had been looking. This time, the tongues were only talked of, but everyone was listening.

Suddenly, the idea of an all-girls boarding school seemed like the best idea ever.

Samantha hit her head back against the brick wall. She was now completely slumped down to the ground. She drew up her knees and pulled them up to her chin and pulled her baggy sweater down over them.

Just then, the yelling and sobbing going on inside the nurse’s office was joined by some yelling and swearing from outside the nurse’s office. Right around the corner, and coming closer.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Anne Jamison is the author of three critical books, including Fic: Why Fanfiction is Taking Over the World. She lives in Salt Lake City with her dogs, her son, and an avant-garde poet. She is an English professor, but not the kind that corrects your grammar (unless she is actively grading your paper). In Between Days is her first novel.






Anne Jamison will be awarding a $25 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments

  1. Would you ever like to see your book made into a tv or movie?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sure, talk to my agent...(heh) Honestly, I'm sure that would be great but also very strange, since as a writer your imagination has a pretty strong idea of the location and the characters and all that would change without your having any say.

      Delete
  2. Really great excerpt, can’t wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Another great book to discover. Thanks so much for sharing this with us.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I remember things like this happening...and having the victim blamed. I married very young the first time...at 16...and WAS NOT pregnant. However, I was told I could no longer take gym because I was married, must drop out of drill team because my husband might not give permission and because I was banned from Gym....and then the constant teasing and rude comments by Male teachers and Male students...and the whispers....I fought it for awnile..then dropped out, and got my GED. Later after a divorce, and remarriage (it's been 46 years)and raising six now adult children, I went to college, and even completed a PhD. Life's been an experience, good, bad, and always a learning experience. However, I never forget those days of being targeted and bullied. I need to read this book. Thanks for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you for your thoughtful comment. It sounds like you have had quite a life! Congratulations on all your accomplishments. Maybe you will write a book? You would have a lot of great material. In this book, even the bullies get bullied--every monster has a scarier monster.

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

ALL IS FAIR by Dee Garretson ***Guest Post: Learn about the era-specific issues in her main character's world -- Giveaway***

KILLER LAWYER -- A New Thiller by Mark Nolan ***Guest Post: Learn fun Facts about Killer Lawyer -- Excerpt -- Giveaway***

Run To You Seasons of Love Book 1 by Jayne Townsley - Contemporary Romantic Suspense