HENRIETTA THE DRAGON SLAYER: Henrietta the Dragon Slayer Book 1 by Beth Barany ***Q&A with the Author - What advice would she give new writers? -- Giveaway***

Henrietta the Dragon Slayer 

Henrietta the Dragon Slayer Book 1

by Beth Barany


Genre: YA Fantasy Adventure



She's a legend at 17, but only Henrietta knows the price she paid for her fame … and it was much too high.

From the Winner of the California Fiction Writer's Book Contest comes this thrilling adventure of a young warrior on one final quest … against an opponent she swore never to face again.

Henrietta, the legendary Dragon Slayer of Bleuve, can't face the thought of another kill. She's lost family, friends and home on her rocky road to fame. But when the young warrior is summoned by a King to retrieve the Dragon Stone from the last dragon in existence, she can't re fuse--her mentor lies dying, and the healing stone is all that can save him. This quest will be her most harrowing of all, for it means facing mysterious assassins, the dreaded choppy sea, and all with a misfit band--a young witch, a jester and a surly knight. And at journey's end, someone must die … the dragon, or Henrietta.

Perfect for fans of Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, Collins' The Hunger Games, McKinley's Hero & the Crown, and Paolini's Eragon. Get your copy of Henrietta the Dragon Slayer today!



Guest Post

Q&A with the Author

Advice they would give new authors?

Yes, so much, as my day job is as a writing teacher and coach. Where do I begin? LOL I teach a planning system in the “Plan Your Novel” course and book, plus lots of other classes to help novelists at Barany School of Fiction.

My most basic advice…

So you want to be a fiction writer… here are some things you need to know, do, and be…

1. READ

If you want to be any kind of writer, read. Anything and everything. Yes, signs. Yes, cereal boxes. Yes, the newspaper or online version of that. Yes, magazines. Yes, novels, short stories, nonfiction. Ever-y-thing. Words are our food as writers. You need to become familiar with all the various and sundry uses of the building blocks of our communication tool. Drink in words; swim in them; listen deeply; speak them. Smell books and paper and all things that receive the written word. Watch those who speak words. Read with your whole self. If you want to write a particular kind of fiction, or nonfiction, read that. Immerse your whole self in that.


How much? A lot.

I had read been reading fantasy for 28 years on my own before I attempted my first fantasy novel. And that doesn’t count the 7+ years before that my parents read it to me.

2. WRITE

If you want to be a fiction writer, then write. Anything and everything. Get your hand moving across the page. Or keyboard. This stage is physical and emotional. For you must trust that there is something to say even if it’s nonsense. Trust your urge to write. What to say and how to say it comes with the doing it, for most of us. Nothing replaces learning to write like actually writing. There is no way around this fact.


3. STUDY

Not every successful fiction writer studies story structure, writing process, plot, character, and other aspects of storytelling. You certainly don’t need to. But if you’re confused by any of these elements, then yes, like many artists, you need to study your craft. There are so many resources out there to help you study your craft. How wonderful!

(Excerpted from this article “So You Want to Be A Fiction Writer? 3 Practices You Need by Beth Barany” https://writersfunzone.com/blog/2018/05/09/so-you-want-to-be-a-fiction-writer-3-practices-you-need-by-beth-barany/ )


What is your writing process? For instance, do you do an outline first? Do you do the chapters first?

I use my Plan Your Novel process (a book https://books2read.com/pynlap and a course https://school.bethbarany.com/p/30daywc) J First I plan using my accordion method; then I write a fast first draft; then I edit and edit and edit. Then I get lots of feedback from critique partners and early readers and edit some more.


How long on average does it take you to write a book?
I can write a first draft on 6-8 weeks, depending on the length. That’s after I’ve planned my book. I usually give myself a month to plan a book.


Do you believe in writer’s block?

No.



Henrietta and the Dragon Stone
Henrietta the Dragon Slayer Book 2



What if all those you loved were threatened by a force you couldn't see or fight?

Henrietta the legendary ass kicking dragon slayer wants to return to her village for a heroes’ welcome. But an unknown sorcerer rides after her and her Dragon Stone, and aims to destroy everyone she cares about. Can she claim her newfound powers sparked by the Dragon Stone and keep her loved ones safe, especially her more-than-friend, and her stalwart bodyguard, before the sorcerer destroys her and everything in his path?

A medieval-set world with magic and magical creatures.

A 86,000-word novel.

Beth Barany empowers young women to be the heroes of their own lives.




Henrietta and the Battle of the Horse Mesa
Henrietta the Dragon Slayer Book 3


Finally, the sweeping conclusion to the Henrietta The Dragon Slayer trilogy!

Parted by destiny, the four friends struggle to rejoin forces and face for a final time, the ruthless sorcerer intent on destroying them all.

In the biggest challenge of her life, Henrietta the legendary Dragon Slayer of Bleuve must lead her people into a battle that may end life as they know it. For they face no ordinary army, but the dark forces of a powerful sorcerer bent on overtaking all five kingdoms. And unless she can rescue her dauntless knight Franc, she must do it without his support.

Franc will follow Henrietta anywhere. But on a mission to find allies among the Horse People, he is kidnapped and taken by minions of the evil sorcerer Eyvindir. Will he find the strength and courage to survive, and fight again at Henrietta's side?

Paulette, the young fire witch, must stand trial for a murder committed out of desperation. In despair at her imprisonment by forces acting against her dearest friend, Jaxter, she escapes and flees to the frigid, forbidden land of Varangia to find a witch powerful enough to help her finally master fire. But what must she give up to gain the power to aid her friends?

Jaxter, now a king, must come to terms with the heavy responsibilities of ruling the Oro Islands, newly emerged from over 75 years of evil rule. This means doing right, even when it means going against ancient customs and protocols. Worse, the marauding Varangians press at his borders. He must find a way to defend his home, or none of them will survive.

Will Henrietta and her friends be able to stop the ruthless sorcerer from obliterating her, claiming the Dragon Stone, and ruling over the Five Kingdoms?



About the Author

Award winning author, Beth Barany writes in several genres including young adult adventure fantasy and paranormal romance.

Inspired by living abroad in France and Quebec, she loves creating magical tales of romance, mystery, and adventure that empower women and girls to be the heroes of their own lives.

For fun, Beth walks, gardens, and watched movies and travels with her husband, author Ezra Barany. They live in Oakland, California with a piano, their cats, and over 1,000 books.

When not writing or playing, Beth runs an online school, BARANY SCHOOL OF FICTION. helping novelists to write, market, and publish their books to the delight of their readers.




Follow the tour HERE for exclusive excerpts, guest posts and a giveaway!





Comments

  1. Sounds like a great book and I love the cover, thanks for sharing :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're so welcome, Victoria! My pleasure. Thanks for stopping by :)

      Delete
  2. Looks like it's going to be a interesting book. I can't wait to read it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hurrah! I can't wait to hear what you think!

      Delete
  3. My question for the author is where do you get your ideas for your stories.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Darlene, Great question. I get them from lots of places, including things I overhear, from dreams, from stories I heard that I wished went differently, from art, from childhood. Thanks for asking!

      Delete
  4. Henrietta and the Dragon Stone has the best cover and intrigues me most.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Awesome! Thanks! As it's the second book in the series, that makes sense. :)

      Delete
  5. I enjoyed learning of this series. My favorite cover is for Henrietta and the Dragon Stone.

    ReplyDelete
  6. The cover is interesting! Thanks for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

KILLER LAWYER -- A New Thiller by Mark Nolan ***Guest Post: Learn fun Facts about Killer Lawyer -- Excerpt -- Giveaway***

ALL IS FAIR by Dee Garretson ***Guest Post: Learn about the era-specific issues in her main character's world -- Giveaway***